Total Noob Need Help

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 30, 2011
Ok, first let me say that although I played ball when I was younger, I have no clue whats good and whats not these days lol.

Last fall my 10 yr old daughter expressed a desire to play Bonnet ball which was a mix of a few experienced girls but mostly first timers like her. Turns out shes a natural hitting several home runs and really loving the game. Not knowing if she would stick with it or not, I picked up a used 30-20 Worth Powercell and a local 2nd had store for $3.00 which she now calls her "lucky bat". After doing so well her first season a coach from one of the local comp teams asked her to try out for a position which she somehow managed to beat out girls with 3-5 years experience and get (to my surprise). Shes a very strong kid at 5ft & 105lbs she can already pick her 150lb mom up off the ground and carry her around lol.

Ok Ok to the point:eek: I'm looking for a decent bat in the $50.00 - $70.00 range with a -13 so I can get her something like a 31-18 or maybe a -12 in a 31-19. She gets the 20oz around pretty good and in her 16 at bats so far this year has only been stuck out four times most for going after bad pitches. Im not afraid to spend more but shes still so new to the game that I would hate to spend $200+ on a bat only to have her decide she doesn't like it anymore.

All opinions welcome, like I said I have no idea whats a good bat these days they didn't have half and half bats or full composites back when I played.

Thanks in advance and sorry for the long winded first post but as my name states, I'm a Proud Papa.

Last edited:
May 7, 2008
Tucson
You do know, that those aren't home runs. Right?

With a 30 inch, 20 ounce bat that costs $200.00, she may actually hit a home run. There is no need to drop her down in weight. Can she experiment with a friends bat, to see what she likes?