Speed and Movement

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 24, 2009
Do you need a certain amount of speed to get movement on a softball?

On my DD's current 12u team she is a "reliever" / pool pitcher. She throws 45-48 mph with decent movement on her rise, drop and 2 seam. The 2 starters throw 40 and slow enough the ball has to significantly arch to get to the plate (maybe 35). I have been told that even though they are slower, they get a lot of movement on the ball. I don't see any movement, but I am no expert. Can 12u pitchers get a lot of movement on the ball at 40 and 35 MPH or am I being sold a load of BS?

Jul 14, 2008
Do you need a certain amount of speed to get movement on a softball?

On my DD's current 12u team she is a "reliever" / pool pitcher. She throws 45-48 mph with decent movement on her rise, drop and 2 seam. The 2 starters throw 40 and slow enough the ball has to significantly arch to get to the plate (maybe 35). I have been told that even though they are slower, they get a lot of movement on the ball. I don't see any movement, but I am no expert. Can 12u pitchers get a lot of movement on the ball at 40 and 35 MPH or am I being sold a load of BS?

At 35mph...there will be a ton of movement........UP then DOWN.......:D

I wouldn't call it a "load"........I'd call it a "dump truck"......;)

Aug 24, 2009
Thanks. :)

Maybe up and down is what they meant. lol

The person telling me was positive their pitches moved.

My only guess is that the 35 mph pitcher has some success and they thinks it's do to movement. More likely it's do to the fact that every pitch is a change up.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
I doubt that anyone on your team, including your DD, is making the ball move. My DD (D1 all conference) had only one breaking pitch.

The problem, most likely, is your DD's control. How many batters does she walk in a game?

Ken Krause

Administrator