Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Base Line to First Base

May 15, 2011
126
16
NFHS rules: Batter bunts ball and runs to first base. How far to the left of the chalked base line can a runner run before it's considered interference by the runner on a throw to 1B? I realize they have to be in the 3 foot area at the 60 ft mark. It seems like some runners are running way to the left of the baseline before then. Thanks.
 
Jan 11, 2015
52
18
Well they have to be to the right side of the foul line at the halfway point to 1st base which is 30 feet. If they get hit before 30 feet it is not interference. The runner can run wherever they want to but if they interfere with the fielder taking the throw at 1st base by not being in the 3ft running lane then they are out.
 
Oct 11, 2018
202
28
Its also a difference between rule sets. USA and NFHS have different interpretation on what it means to be within the running lane. NFHS requires no foot on ground outside of lane. USA is position of ball. If ball contacts runner over fair territory, interference.
 

marriard

Not lost - just no idea where I am
Oct 2, 2011
3,927
113
Florida
And just to be clear, the batte4-runner can run anywhere they like but being in fair territory past the start of the running lane puts them at risk of an interference call.

For there to be an interference there still needs to be actual interference. Just running outside the lane is not cause for a call.
 
May 29, 2015
2,331
113
^That. :)

I was going to simply say "It is not interference if the runner runs the entire distance/any distance to the left of the baseline."
 
Oct 24, 2010
241
28
And just to be clear, the batte4-runner can run anywhere they like but being in fair territory past the start outside of the running lane puts them at risk of an interference call.
FIFY. Outside is defined by the letters on your hat.

For there to be an interference there still needs to be actual interference. Just running outside the lane is not cause for a call.
Perfect. This needs to be shouted from the rooftops.

To add, because there is confusion about this, the running lane is irrelevant on a tag attempt.
 
Feb 13, 2021
594
63
MI
Perfect. This needs to be shouted from the rooftops.

To add, because there is confusion about this, the running lane is irrelevant on a tag attempt.
For RLI, you need these elements:

Runner more than halfway to 1B
Runner outside of running lane
A throw that has a chance of creating an out
Interference with the ability to field said throw.

Here is an interesting question:

BR is to the right of the RL (foul territory).

C fields a bunt close to the line and to open a clear throwing lane steps to her left (further into fair territory) delaying her throw by some amount of time.

BR is safe in a bang-bang play.

Did the runner cause the C to alter her play?
Does this result in RLI, there was no interference in the ability of the 1B to catch the throw?
 
Jan 11, 2015
52
18
For RLI, you need these elements:

Runner more than halfway to 1B
Runner outside of running lane
A throw that has a chance of creating an out
Interference with the ability to field said throw.

Here is an interesting question:

BR is to the right of the RL (foul territory).

C fields a bunt close to the line and to open a clear throwing lane steps to her left (further into fair territory) delaying her throw by some amount of time.

BR is safe in a bang-bang play.

Did the runner cause the C to alter her play?
Does this result in RLI, there was no interference in the ability of the 1B to catch the throw?
It doesn't. The rule says that the runner interferes with the fielder receiving the throw at first. The catcher having to move doesn't let you call and out.
 
Feb 13, 2021
594
63
MI
It isn't the catcher moving, it is the delay in the throw. What would you have if the runner is in the same place, the catcher DOESN'T move to open the lane but hesitates just for a moment because of the runner, makes the throw straight down the line and the same runner safe on a bang-bang play?
 
Jan 11, 2015
52
18
It isn't the catcher moving, it is the delay in the throw. What would you have if the runner is in the same place, the catcher DOESN'T move to open the lane but hesitates just for a moment because of the runner, makes the throw straight down the line and the same runner safe on a bang-bang play?
It is the same thing. You are saying the runner is affecting the catcher but the rule states the runner needs to interfere with the person receiving the throw.

Seems on your description that the fielder at 1st base had no problem catching the ball.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
38,823
Messages
595,179
Members
18,441
Latest member
Dogdrool
Top