Softball team dilemma

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 4, 2014
I am a freshman in high school and I want to play college softball. I have a dilemma.

So, currently I play for a travel team that I really enjoy. This past summer we played in somewhat high level tournaments and were very successful. I love all the girls on the team and we have great team chemistry. Unfortunately, the schedule we have for this fall is not one that will get me in front of college coaches and the competition is not what our coaches promised we would be playing. I feel ready to play at a high level to get me ready to play college ball but I don’t feel my current team is getting me there.
Now, I have a high level team playing very high exposure tournaments offering me a spot on their team. The coaches are very experienced and the girls are very motivated to play at a high level. By playing on this team I know I would have a better chance of achieving my goal but Im not sure if I want to give up a team that I love to a team I may not like as much.
So, if you were me would you go with the team that your heart is with and you adore, or would you take the team that would get me to play at a college that I want?

Also, is there any other advice you have about what a high school freshman should be doing to get recruited?

Feb 17, 2014
Orlando, FL
Loyalty and playing with friends is all fine and good, but you have to do what is best for you. Take some time and give it some thought and consideration, then do whatever is best for your future.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Do not burn any bridges. You might leave and want to come back. Be upfront with your current coach and team.

The fall season isn't so important. Colleges are playing, now, too.