SS taking throws from catcher

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 21, 2010
Anybody got any ideas or tips to help me with this. I have a SS that is a great player but for some reason is having a hard time with this.

Oct 10, 2010
Hi, your DD is the SS? I'm no expert, but I'd just get out and practice it with her. Set a bucket of balls beside you, pretend to be the catcher, have her start in the hole, yell "runner going" and make your best throw down to second, over and over.

May 7, 2008
Morris County, NJ
The coach was working with DD (14U) on this exact skill this morning. DD traditionally has been a P/OF and they had her taking throws and applying tags today.

1. After reminding her for 4 years to"catch with 2 hands" they want her to catch, swipe and present the ball to the umpiure with a 1 handed catch.
2. She got the hang of it quickly, but it will take some time if she actually will be moved to a middle infield position.

Oct 18, 2009
My son had this problem too. He would be thinking about the runner coming, seeing them in the corner of his eye and miss the throw or bobble it. What I did was making him focus on catching the ball first then trying to tag.

I also teach the catcher to try and throw to a spot a little in front/right of 2B before the baseline so SS can just slap it down on the runner coming.

Nov 29, 2009
Anybody got any ideas or tips to help me with this. I have a SS that is a great player but for some reason is having a hard time with this.

I'm guessing she's having problems catching and applying the tag all in one motion while moving to the bag at a dead run. This is very difficult skill for a young player to master. There are sooooo many things going on at the same time.