Sharing info with parents? When and how much

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 19, 2009
beyond the fences
As a coach, how much 'inside' info do you share with parents? When you see them outside of practice, games etc. and they pepper you with questions, are you vague and polite? Parents, what do you want to know, that you can't learn from talking to DD or observing in practice? As a coach, I do not want to offend you, but please don't come to me with the week's gossip from the bleachers. Personally, I am brief and vague at best, I never discuss team issues etc., why do parents constantly want to pry?

I have friends whose DD started playing travel this year, she has gone from the kid with potential, to a very good player in the last few months. Mom and dad are supportive but I get the feeling they do not like the fact that I don't share info that I deem off-limits. As a parent, I always respect the coach's decisions etc., why is there always a group of parents that will not show me the same respect as I show the soccer coach etc.

Jan 15, 2009
Can you be more specific? If a parent asked me about batting statistics I would be willing to discuss with them privately how their kid was doing, but not discuss how that compares on the team and not discuss any other kid on the team. Not sure what other info I would know as a coach that they would want to know. Sure they could get the info from their kid, but my kid never remembers the details a parent wants to hear. Not going to discuss future playing positions or batting order. Never going to discuss another kid's status with them.

sample conversation with my kid during HS swim season
ME: "How did you swim?"
DD: "Good"
ME: "what times did you get?"
DD: "Ummmm.... I don't remember."
ME: "Thanks for being so informative. I'll check with the coach. :) "

Sep 3, 2009