where's the head coach

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 15, 2010
Back to the original topic. The head coach sets the standards for acceptable behavior on a team. In the situation posted the coaches behavior is allowing the team to feel that attendance and unexplained absences are acceptable. I guarantee you the players will follow his lead. In some upcoming practices a couple of players won't show. No explanation. A few more players won't show, some regularly and others sporadically. At a friendly you will be a couple of girls short. Then it will happen at a tournament. In several months the team will disband I know because I went through the exact same thing with DDs first travel team 3 years ago. Your choice is very simple: change teams.

Jan 27, 2011
Los Angeles
As a coach, I would be upset if one of my players called me Sunday morning to let me know they weren't coming because of a migrane. Once is excused, twice would be a problem.

A real migraine (as opposed to a hangover headache) can come on suddenly and is completely debilitating. When my daughter has one you could try and force her to come to the game, but she literally would not be able to open her eyes (bright light makes it worse).

Jun 18, 2010
A real migraine (as opposed to a hangover headache) can come on suddenly and is completely debilitating. When my daughter has one you could try and force her to come to the game, but she literally would not be able to open her eyes (bright light makes it worse).

LAdad, you beat me to the punch... As a sufferer of migraines myself, I can assure you they can knock you off your feet for a while.

Aug 23, 2010
Florida
LAdad, you beat me to the punch... As a sufferer of migraines myself, I can assure you they can knock you off your feet for a while.