how to help create a really good pitcher

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 8, 2019
60+ views and no replies...I am no expert but I'll put in my $0.02

5. Be patient.
6. Let the good pitching coach you hired coach your kid (not you-unless you are a softball pitcher yourself, or a softball pitching coach).
7. Understand that you will get hit and that's going to happen.
8. Understand that you will get hit hard and that's going to happen.
9. Understand that you will hit batters and that's going to happen.
10. Understand that your teammates will make errors (or non-plays) and that's going to happen.
11. Understand that other parents (especially other pitcher parents) have opinions about how you pitch...let it roll off your back.
12. Do not pitch for conditioning, do conditioning so you can pitch.
13. Work harder than everyone else.
14. Nobody cares, work harder (thank you Cam Hanes for that).

All part of the game.

I have more, but I'm curious to see what others say.
Being patient was something I had to learn the hard way. My expectations for the first six months were ridiculous. Pitching is REALLY hard and you have to sit back and trust the process.

May 10, 2021
Consistent practice is really the key. Work on location, location, location. Find different ways to make it challenging and fun.

My DD pitcher for a mediocre TB team until she was 16YOA. She pitched a lot. Even though she lost a lot of games, she never complained once (seriously...not once) about the poor fielding. She ended up a D1 pitcher, so it worked out OK for her.
Thanks! Any tips on drills or games to keep it fresh?

I keep going to the "if you hit my glove 8 out of 10 times I will buy starbucks.."

May 10, 2021
Consistent practice is really the key. Work on location, location, location. Find different ways to make it challenging and fun.