Wooden bats for fastpitch

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

JaC

Apr 29, 2023
I'm a wooden bat person. Always have been. I've had my hands on some awesome aluminum and composite bats but still love the feel of the wooden.

As a coach, I use a wooden bat to hit balls to the field. Some of my girls have tried my bat and like the feel.

My question: Is there any issue with the girls using wood bats as long as they're ASA certified?

Jun 20, 2015
besides the lack of distance and smaller sweet spot? why in the world would you purposely handicap players in games??? training sure, I get it.

But in games versus players using most recent bat released, no way.

Dec 11, 2010

I almost ordered one of these as a training bat so many times…… Can get whatever length you want and not have to be careful of trademark. Just did bargain Louisville Sluggers with Lizard Skins instead.

May 13, 2023
I'm a wooden bat person. Always have been. I've had my hands on some awesome aluminum and composite bats but still love the feel of the wooden.

As a coach, I use a wooden bat to hit balls to the field. Some of my girls have tried my bat and like the feel.

My question: Is there any issue with the girls using wood bats as long as they're ASA certified?
What age?

They like the feel,
do they like the results?

May 29, 2015
ASA hasn’t existed in several years … it’s one thing for teams and old umpires/coaches to say it, but if you are marketing a product … %#!^

CoreSoftball20

Wilson = Evil Empire
DFP Vendor
Dec 27, 2012
Kunkletown, PA
Yeah, they love the feeling until game time and they are so far behind hitters with top of the line
composites. You get nothing on mishits...like zero help from the bat. SS is tiny. That flare over the infield
on a mishit...nope, not anymore. How many homers you see go out on a ball that wasnt even squared
up nowadays? A lot! Wood wont do that.