Improving reflexes on third base

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 6, 2010
I am a 16u softball player that wants to improve reflexes on third base. I love third and i have no fear of the ball but at times i can react slowly to the ball or freeze up for a second or two. I have fairly good reflexes in general but i would greatly appreciate it if anyone knew some drills that would help me optimize them.

and if anyone knows any tips or drills for playing 1st base it would be greatly appreciated. I have very little experience on 1st but during our last two tournaments i was asked to play there and i would really like to do anything i can to get better. Thanks

also- I'm a big believer in mental imagery and a positive mind set (Mental Keys to Hitting by H.A. Dorfman) so if there is anything i can do to become mentally prepared i would greatly appreciate it. thanks

Last edited:

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
but at times i can react slowly to the ball or freeze up for a second or two

(A) You are losing focus during the game. "Focus" is also referred to as "mental toughness" or "mental discipline". You have to bring your mind (by mind, I mean the combination of your body and brain) into the moment on each pitch. "Into the moment" means that for that second that the pitch is thrown and the batter swings, the only thing that is in your mind is "now".

The way you do this is to let your mind wander between pitches and do something else (wave at your teammates, say "let's go", whatever), but when the pitcher starts the windup, you narrow your focus to the batter generally, and then when the ball leaves the pitcher, then to the "hitting area" around the plate.

You need to start forcing yourself to do this on every pitch. Make it a game. On how many pitches did you maintain focus? How many times were other thoughts in your head when the pitch was made?