Illegal Pitching

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 23, 2009
Los Angeles
I'm relatively new to girl pitch softball (DD in 8U), but could someone please educate me on why I see so many girls at all levels continually make illegal pitches (i.e. right foot comes up in the air off of the pitcher plate before girl releases the ball, hopping, etc.). It's my understanding that the "drive foot" has to start on the plate and can only move along the ground. Maybe some softball santioning bodies allow this? Thanks.

Sep 11, 2009
Mesa Arizona
This may sound a little soap boxish but, alot of pitchers get away with illegal pitching because the Umpires, either don't see it, don't want to see it or don't know the true definition of an Illegel pitch. When we mention to the umps that the pitcher is doing something wrong and we question their umipring skills, 99% of the time they do nothing because we questioned them. Is this right, no, what can we do to fix it, we can teach our dd's and pitchers, we're responsible for, the correct mechanics to not have to worry about it on our side of the fence. Don't get me wrong there are alot of umpires out there that are really good, but on occassion there are a few that slip through the cracks. I may have just opened up a can of worms with this post, so I apologize to anyone that I may offend, or have offended.

Oct 23, 2009
Los Angeles
96coach, totally agree with your comments. We should be teaching our young DD's and pitchers how to play the game within the confines of the rules. If there are two blues, there is no excuse for not calling illegal pitches on P's not using proper mechanics on the pitching mound. Isn't that why we have umps in the first place, to enforce the rules? If they diligently enforced this rule, every PC and coach in the US would not tolerate their P's who abuse this rule. Does youth baseball get this free pass?

halskinner

Banned
May 7, 2008