how would you score this?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 10, 2011
I'm making notes on my DD's games this summer and was curious about these plays... I've never done scoring before (18U-A if it matters).
While batting she hits a very hard one bouncer to 3rd, hits the 3rd baseman in the gut and she buckles, unable to complete the play...BOE?
While playing 3rd, takes a grounder and throws to 1st. 1st baseman stumbles getting back...the throw is really low but not in the dirt and hits the glove right at the inside corner of the bag, and falls out as 1st falls down. If ball was thrown higher...it's probably an out but if 1st didn't stumble, it would have been caught. What's the call?

Jun 11, 2013
I would give first batter a hit unless I felt the 3B just totally misplayed it.

On the second, it's an error, likely on 3rd, but would have had to see it.

Aug 29, 2011
NorCal
Was the first a bad hop or just a misplay? If 3B should have caught the ball with routine effort then E5, otherwise 1B.

On the 2nd, E5 or E3 depending on whether or not 1B should have reasonable caught the throw or not.

Oct 10, 2011
Was the first a bad hop or just a misplay? If 3B should have caught the ball with routine effort then E5, otherwise 1B.

On the 2nd, E5 or E3 depending on whether or not 1B should have reasonable caught the throw or not.
HC says if it were outside "3rd's shoulders" he'd give DD the hit but AC thought it was a monster shot difficult to handle. I don't know how the parent scored it that keeps the books.

Jun 27, 2011
North Carolina
Agree w/ the consensus - #1 - Hit. #2 - Error. Probably E-5. But would have to see both to make up my mind for sure.