did the umps do the right thing

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 6, 2015
2,367
113
championship game sunday, DDs team is down 3 or 4 runs, about halfway through game (they ended up playing 6 when time expired). after P walks bases loaded (or possibly walked in a run, I forget), DDs HC opens gate and says "time blue", umpire grants time. pitcher had ball in circle, but apparently runner from 2B had not reached third yet. Opposing HC at 3B Coach has this girl walk to him, then HP.

opposing HC goes nuts, says you cant grant time, the ball is live, you cost me a run, etc. umps (2 working game) calmly discuss matter, then instruct him to send his runnre back to 3B. says you are correct, we should not have called time, but we did, and it cannot be undone. opposing HC continues hissy fit, walks to dugout, throws water bottle, gets runner back to 3B.

did the blues, once they had erroneously called time, did they do the right thing returning runner to 3B?
 
Dec 15, 2018
468
93
CT
Because they incorrectly suspended play before the runner was at 3rd, I can't see another reasonable outcome than keeping her there.

We had two incidents of time being granted incorrectly (in my opinion) this weekend.
1) our runner was hit with thrown ball while sliding into home, and while it hurt, she wasn't injured or writhing in pain or anything - this prevented another runner from advancing to third.
2) Mid pitch, 3rd base coach asks for time and it's granted by the base ump - cost us a strike 3 (the batter swung and missed).

Sucks.
 
Feb 13, 2021
599
63
MI
Yes, play was stopped (incorrectly) the moment either umpire granted 'Time'. Compare it to an inadvertent whistle in football or basketball. You can't unblow the whistle. All you can do is put things where they were at the moment play was stopped by the official.
 

TMD

Feb 18, 2016
410
43
Agree on the outcome here, but confused by the coach's "you cost me a run" statement. Was the coach going to have the girl try to score from 2B on the walk??
 
Mar 1, 2013
297
28
Agree on the outcome here, but confused by the coach's "you cost me a run" statement. Was the coach going to have the girl try to score from 2B on the walk??
The only thing I can think of here is that he was going to try to pull a sneaky and have the girl casually walk in as if she was entitled to it - catching them off guard. Because trick plays always work and it's the only way to play (insert rolling eyes here)
 
May 6, 2015
2,367
113
Agree on the outcome here, but confused by the coach's "you cost me a run" statement. Was the coach going to have the girl try to score from 2B on the walk??
yes, exactly, but only once our coach and IF had gathered in the circle, think coach had the ball at this point. he thought umpires making mistake gave him the right to a free run. like if blue had told our coach to hold on a minute, everyone would have just let this girl walk home without doing anything.
 

Products discussed on DFP

Forum statistics

Threads
39,190
Messages
602,941
Members
18,681
Latest member
wvsteve
Top