coaching dilema

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 19, 2009
Well here it is two and 1/2 weeks since my last post and it happened, I'm now an ex-rec coach. It feels kind of surreal, coaching and my dd's participation in our rec league was such a big part of our family's life.

My younger dd's travel coach asked me if I want to be an assistant coach which I may do but it depends on where my older dd ends up playing.

Jul 16, 2008
Oregon
Well it comes down to 2 choices; #1 Don't help coach, and pray that the 10U and 12U Tournaments are in the same place and at different times so you can watch, if not then you have to decide which one your going to attend. #2 You do help coach, and will probably learn some things, and pray that the 10U and 12U Tournaments are at the same place and different times so you can watch, if not then the choice is already made for you because you have made a commitment with the 10U being a coach.

I would help assist in coaching to better yourself if you ever want to head up a travel team.

Jan 7, 2009
Left Coast
I was a school ball coach for a number of years, always coaching other parents' kids. I started out helping with my DD's rec teams when she started playing about four years ago, then ended up coaching her rec ball team for a couple of years. Doing school and rec was a challenge, but I loved my school coaching job and my DW put up with all of the time on the field. At the end of this past season, I left my school job, partly to avoid the political fallout from having my DD on my school ball team in the next couple of years. (partly for some other typical school ball reasons, too)