coaching dilema

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 11, 2009
Well my 10u daughter is gearing up for Fall ball, but I just found out her coach isn't going to be coaching this fall(his daughter went to a club team). So either I can coach a team or find another team for her to play on. She has been focusing alot on her pitching mechanics(hired a pitching coach) this summer and we go hit alot. She is really pumped up watching the national team playing on TV this weekend too. What to do? I went to all her practices last two seasons and helped the head coach whom I really liked his coaching style. I wonder what will be in the best interest of my daughter? For me to coach her team or get her on another team...Any suggestions from those who have been in the same situation. I played ball or been around it my whole life so its not like I am a newbie, but it will be my first time as head coach...
TM

May 20, 2009
Charlotte, NC
T- I am in a similar situation with my 10u DD. She plays rec ball right now and due to growth in our association we have more teams than coaches. I have been an assistant coach the last 2 seasons but will be a head coach this fall. I would love to hear from the experts here what are some of the best drills to start with and any advice for a new coach.

May 12, 2008
Tmolina,

That can be a tough call. If you are coaching the team, do you bend over backward to avoid showing favoritism and your kid gets a bad deal? Do you start your kid where you think she belongs and others whisper daddy ball? It can be a great time for all or it can be tough. One thing for sure, when you are responsible for the whole team, you will have less time available to work with your own kid one on one. What are the options. How well does your DD take coaching from you. Lots of variables. No pat answers. Keep reevaluating season to season what is best for your kid and the relationship between the two of you.