Bullet spin

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 13, 2021
So a month or so ago as me and DD was pitching she says here comes my special fastball. She is 8 playing up in 10u. It was a bullet spin and prob 2-3 mph faster than her regular fastball. Since then she has been throwing it in games mixing it in with her regular fastball which has really good fastball spin, and her changup which is still a work in progress. Anyone else DD throw a pitch like this, do you see any harm in her throwing it? She thinks it is the greatest thing ever and a pitch she invented.

Last edited:
Jun 20, 2015
besides the fact that bullet spin normally goes straight versus movement caused by spin, nothing wrong with an occasional jump in Velo.

Oct 4, 2018
besides the fact that bullet spin normally goes straight versus movement caused by spin, nothing wrong with an occasional jump in Velo.

I tend to agree, at that age. I'm not an expert, but it's generally not the spin you want, as it's more like a football and makes the ball go straight. And a straight fastball might end up straight over the straight center field fence (at older ages).

But in 10U, speed kills. At 35 feet you can simply blow the ball by almost every batter - at least that was my experience.

I'd talk to the pitching coach about it though. You probably don't want to "permanentailze" that motion.

May 15, 2008
Cape Cod Mass.
In spite of it's bad reputation as a pitch that goes 'straight' bullet spin is very common and I see it all the time when I watch D1 games on TV. I think of it as 'the poor man's rise ball'. I teach it all the time in combination with a top spin fastball. 'Top spin down, bullet spin up', that's what I tell them. With the WCWS being on TV this week there will be a lot of good slo-mo replays and you will see far more bullet rise balls than you will see back spin ones. When you say 'fastball' spin what do you mean?

Dec 11, 2010