back hand drills

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 17, 2009
anyone have some fun back hand drills for 12u. any ideas for quick release drills
also. thanks in advance.

May 17, 2009
no sir i am not. 3rd year travel ball and these girls soak up anything you throw at them.
during the winter trying push with all the fundamentals that we can. once spring comes
we will start playing in march. i have almost all 98's. great group of girls with some very large dreams. thanks.

Mar 2, 2009
Suffolk, VA
Durwood, please don't tell me you are coaching a rec league...

Sluggers! I've got lots of respect for your knowledge of the game, but sir..... it doesn't matter whether a coach is travel, HS or rec ball.. especially rec ball! Any coach spending time to learn to teach/coach and any asking questions asked is a good thing..........

ok Backhand drills: D-wood..... part of one of my infield drills includes backhands, plant and throw..... I like barehanded/No Glove groundball drills for 3-4 minutes, then w/ their gloves, then Shorthops, backhands vertical leaps or diving drills. One line of infielders: one at a time, 3 shorthops, rotate, then next time around:
1) 3 backhands rolled and she keeps glove open-faced, out in front of her body, bent by KNEES/NOT waste, sees ball all the way into the glove, then PLANTS to pivot into her throw
2) hit tennis balls at them from 12-14 feet to/left and right - helps them learn quickness/reactions/range/vertical leap/and backhands...
3) Zip balls or baseballs work for backhand drills to force concentration on ball..

** One BIG Key is INSIST they bend at knees to stay LOW on the ball and NOT be lazy and bend at the hips.... some coaches like them to touch down their trail knee to FORCE the player to get down on the ball

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas