SOFTBALL vs baseball catching differences

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 26, 2012
Anyone.

First Sorry for the long post!
I am new to fastpitch softball - my daughter is 9 and has played "REC" softball for a few years but it has always been very laid back... mostly coach pitch....last fall she moved up to REC kid pitch and was asked to play on a 10U travel team.

She has always been a catcher and has no problems catching even the fastest 12U pitchers that practice with our team. I have always taught her to catch the same way I taught my son (he catches also - 11U):

I basicly teach the same as NECC:
3 stances (signs, relaxed, ready)... very much like the NECC videos show. I bought the NECC video well after I had started teaching my son and daughter - and was happy to find I was basicly teaching the same style..... there were a few differences here and there but nothing major.....

On to the issue: To get ready for the spring season her travel team has a few outside instructors coming in to work with the team - and they are telling my daughter to NEVER use the "ready/runners on" stance.....they say you should always use the "relaxed stance/no runners on". When I questioned it they looked at me like I was crazy for thinking she should be UP more when needing to block/throw..... they said they never heard of such a thing!
They also have her covering bunts strange in my opinion: no matter where on the feild the bunt goes they want her taking to the 1st base side of the plate as her path to the ball....even on a bunt directly down the third baseline. Also for any bunt that is not down 1st base side (so straight back to the pitcher all they way to 3rd base line) - they want her "spinning" to make throw to first...

I really dont know much about fastpitch softball so Im looking for any advice I can get here......

Are these instructors correct? Or are they totally off?

Last edited:

hen