Early stud or steady improvement

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 23, 2010
Florida
I have been working with my DD for a few years now. As a 12U pitcher, I would say she is quite capable. She would love to someday pitch at the college level. My DD throws pretty consistent high 40's. Maybe pops 50 on a good day. There are definitely 12U pitchers that throw harder. She has been able to add a few mph every year to her pitching. As a sixth grader, we are looking to add 2-3 mph every year. That would put her in the 60's as a senior. Is that realistic to think we can continue to add that speed. Or do the top level pitchers have the majority of their speed by 12 or 13. I know she needs the movement pitches and she is working hard on those as well. How many of the top college pitchers were dominent at a young age verses became dominent as they got older? She has the work ethic necessary to get there and has shown nice improvement every season. Just curious as to how high her ceiling would be. I read about Kenzie Fowler at Arizona. By 12 she was bringing the heat. She just had to learn to control it. Same with Osterman in Texas. Are they the exception or the rule. Hard to teach that type of speed.

Oct 18, 2009
From what I've heard a lot depends on mechanics and physical growth of a pitcher. Some girls peak early; some girls later. I'm also curious as to what other forum members have experienced as I have a young pitcher who is steadily improving.

How do you determine an athlete's ceiling?

Apr 13, 2010
Well, don't mean to splash cold water on you but I think the number one thing I've learned over the past year is it's hard to overcome genetic predisposition.

I don't know where the line is persay but genetics seem to be involved in well over 50% of the scale and hard work, discipline, etc. can get her the rest of the way. If you have both *Jenny Finch* (cough, cough) you can get pretty close to 100%.