Need to get my daughter on a travel team in Pennsylvania

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 18, 2011
Hi All,

I am not a softball expert and am in desperate need of some help. My daughter is 10 years old and turns 11 in July. She has played in regular season fastpitch softball the past two years and that followed each summer with a travel team for tournament play. This year there is not enough participants to field a travel team.

This is what my daughter looked forward to all year. Do we have any options at all? I'd love to get her on a tournament team. She is a good player and especially a good team-mate.

Are there rules and regulations that would prohibit this from happening? Are there rec leagues that she could get involved with?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. We are willing to travel in the Western and Central Pennsylvania area. Johstown area would be perfect.

Thanks

Oct 22, 2009
PA
Check the USSSA website for 10U teams in Central PA. On a quick look, there are 8 listed between 10UA to 10UC. You can probably start there. Try also B2B Baseball and Softball Academy in Manhein, PA - the instructors there may know of teams looking for players. There just aren't that many 10U teams around in PA. Another option is to find a 12U team - there are many more registered in USSSA.

Sep 3, 2009
I'd look for teams, and then go out and watch them play. How are the girls playing, in relation to your dd's skills and abilities? Watch the coaches too. See how they react to both good, and bad plays/games/etc. This site seems to have quite a bit of activity, might be a good place to start, and ask about tryouts, etc. Pennsylvania Softball

BTW.. my father used to live in Johnstown. Loved visiting there.

Aug 20, 2009
Bristol pa