"Me before Team" A downward spiral.

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 12, 2013
I have been coaching softball for over 15 years. I started as an assistant in 10U, and have been in 18U for the last 10years. In the last decade I was an assistant with a Nationally ranked team for four years, took one season off, with the remainder and currently as head coach at the 18U level.

This is how our season went this summer. We kept a small squad from last fall, 12 players, (most all of the parents were concerned about playing time with larger roster), so I obliged them, big mistake!!!
Five of our players had signed and or would sign in the spring at the college level.
I keep in constant contact with players between fall and summer seasons and do not practice much during this time. I asked and received commitments from all twelve players in January for the up-coming summer season. Two weeks prior to our first showcase tournament two players quit the team, one decided that another sport was her calling, (probably was and that was fine), the other had family and logistics problems, (newly single mom with two sport travel family), understandable. The night before the first tournament our starting SS and also one of our five college bound players, decides to take the summer off to be with her mom in another state, (divorced parents), she wanted to spend time with her mother. I can understand how she felt, but her timing stunk.