Just wondering...

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 8, 2013
I have been a coach for over 10 years. I have coached both in-house and club ball. I have a daughter who is a jr. in hs and hits from both sides. The coaches only let her hit from the left side. I think I have a good understanding of the small ball philosophy, but my question is, if a player slaps or bunts effectively from the left side, and also hits legitimately over .400 and can hit behind the runner more effectively from the right side and has a 3.3 to first from the right side, why don't coaches ever use this to keep the defense off balance? Why is it so frowned upon once coaches know you can hit from the left, they forget about the right side? Please feel free to send this to other coaches because I really want some feed back. Thanks

Dec 7, 2011
You may be asking way too much from an average HS coach (my experience in my state).

If you saw another thread I posted today - previous SB varsity coach of one of the biggest schools here in WI actually only had a gymnastics background.

Another angle of this, assuming a more SB-knowledgeable coach, is that coaches just LOVE to say & show they have developed a slapper. It’s like a status badge.

Another angle on this, this time defending the coach, is that in HS the more a ball is put in play the better chance of the “plentiful HS error”.

Sep 18, 2011