Introducing Competition in Practices

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 16, 2010
South Africa
I have been coaching baseball for about 8 years. I have found that boys and men seem to thrive on competition.

Haul out a stop watch when you’re training base running and all of a sudden you find a team that didn’t feel like running, begging to go again to try to beat their last time or another team member’s time.

Start a race to see which pair can complete a series of ten quick hand throws first and suddenly training seems to take on a new determination and players that had been about to yawn have a spark to their movements.

Now my question is this: I know that girls generally don’t operate or relate to things the way boys do. Obviously! But would introducing a bit of competition lead to the improvement and drive that you see from boys? Do girls trend to crack more under pressure? Do you find that girls often love practices but get so nervous or edgy at games that their performance suffers? Or is that all just that the mental aspect of the game needs more preparation?

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
SAWolf--you haven't coached girls enough. (For your benefit, I've got two girls who played in college at a very advanced level. I've coached girls softball, soccer, basketball for years and years and years.)

If you are lacking competition at your practices, the problem is *YOU*. *YOU* are not giving the correct motivation. *YOU* are not allowing them to compete.

Most likely, you don't understand girls--they don't express themselves like boys, and they are more mature than boys.

You are NOT going to see a bunch of girls running around screaming, cursing, and throwing things at the wall if they lose a game. You will NOT see some girl in the corner considering jumping off a bridge because she dropped a pop-up and cost her team the game.