Beginners....

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 26, 2010
This is my first year coaching in the minor division (10U). I have a roster of 12 young players and they are all great kids. I am puzzled on what to do to get through to these girls when it comes to having a good approach at the plate. Let me start by giving an example of one of my players at-bat: First pitch, called strike. I can see it click in her head, "Oh boy, she is a good pitcher, she throws strikes, I have to swing." Inevitably the next pitch goes about 10 feet over her head and she swings at the ball. This scenario is played over time after time with about 8 of the 12 girls that are on our team. I can see my biggest problem is teaching them to see a pitch and then make a decision on whether that pitch is hittable or not. Does anyone have any ideas on what I could help them out with? Most of these girls from what I can tell are first time players and I am definitely trying to make this experience fun for them but I can tell that they are getting frustrated. I am always staying positive and trying to help.

Any advice given would be greatly appreciated.

Jan 20, 2010
I have coached a 10u rec team he past couple of years. What seems to have worked for us is to get the girls to approach each pitch as if it is going to be a strike and then adjust if it is not (essentially step on every pitch). After a while they realized that it is much easier to decide to not swing at a ball than it is to start their swing after realizing a pitch is a strike.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
I tell them that if they have to raise their hands, don't swing.

Other than that, assign them lots of tee work. If you can get them hitting properly at home, you will see improvement.

Tees can be made rather cheaply and whiffle balls don't cost much.

Apr 26, 2010