7 year old follow up

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 23, 2014
Hey everyone,

Follow up from my first post. Just a recap, daughter took lessons starting at 6 with a hello elbow, I found this forum right before her all star tournament so we slowly started implementing changes, and now we are full force into I/R transition. I have not found a SoCal PC so this board is it for now!!

Interesting I am already noticing a more consistent release point (sometimes with HE in games she would throw over the catchers head) Sometimes it seems she is using too much shoulder as she tries to rotate, but when she gets it right it looks pretty good. I will be posting a video in the near future for feedback from the community as I guarantee as a newbie I am missing a TON of stuff!!

Follow up question. At the all star tournament I noticed quite a few 8 year olds with a change up. When my daughter gets consistent with her I/R release, what do you all recommend be the next pitch she learns, and where do you progress from there? I realize that every student is different so I am just trying to get a general idea of what everyone thinks.

Feb 7, 2013
You answered your own question. Once she is fairly consistent with her fastball, introduce the change up. She can get by with just those two pitches for the next 4 years. Fight the urge to have her learn 6 pitches by the time she is 10yo. Less is more at that age. What part of SoCal are you in? Some good PCs here, but you need to know what to look for.

May 23, 2014
Thanks guys. Rocket we are in north Orange County