6U Team Rules and Expectations

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Hello!

My name is Shelbie. I am new to this board. I am also new to coaching softball. I signed my daughter up to play and walked out a coach. I played softball for many years while I was growing up and through HS. However, we are having our team meeting tomorrow. I have everything completely ready to go for that except I do not have any "rules and expectations" for my team. I know we have league rules and game rules. But I would like help building a few rules for my team specifically like; always have a good attitude, hustle all the time, the golden rule, etc. I searched google and found a plenty of examples but they were all geared to much older girls. I would kind of like mine to encompass parents too. Like now bad mouthing the officials. I feel children see their parents doing that and think its okay, when in fact it is a form of poor sportsmanship. Anyways, what are some suggestions out there for expectations??

Thank you!!!

Dec 4, 2013
1. Don't kill each other
2. Have fun

Are there umpires and a score for 6u games? I would hope parents would be able to control themselves at this type of game.....but then again you never know! Good luck

ItsJustAGameCoach!

Softball Sponge
Dec 7, 2014
Surprise Arizona
Good Luck. I don't think I have ever had officials in a City Rec. League at 8U or 6U, but that just might be where I have played. The coaches usually call outs so I never really had many problems. As far as rules, I was usually happy when I could get a player to answer to their name and do what was asked of them, like grab your glove and go to 2nd base. Ask parents to cheer not jeer and keep suggestions to themselves until after the game. Just try to instill your values in the girls during practices and games and hopefully they will follow your example.

Feb 3, 2011