Which is best way to thorugh a fast ball?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Dec 6, 2010
Florida
My DD is 10 almost 11 and is beginning to learn to pitch. She took some lessons from a very well successful D1 pitcher this past fall. We have gegan to start back pitchinf=g but the young lady who was teaching her has went back to school as a GA.

My question is since i'm new to the pitching side is, she was being taught to try and throw her fastball by griping the ball at the C, with her fingers and thumb on a seam. then she was taught to throw it by using a flip at action. I know that this is the correct way to throw it by all accounts that i have read. She is having a tuff time being consistent with this technique. She has a natural way of throwing her fastball, which i think is similar to the bullet spin.

The way she throws it her her palmis almost facing third base when she releases it. Don't know if this is good or bad. Help!!!!
Hope this makes since.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
Watch Sarah Pauly's release:

<embed src="http://share.ovi.com/flash/player.aspx?media=ratwod.11508&albumname=ratwod.softball" width="512" height="420" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"></embed>

This is Sarah Pauly, one of the best pitches around. Watch her forearm at release. Notice that it rotates clockwise (from the pitcher's point of view). This is called "Internal Rotation" (IR).

A flip release is where the wrist flips toward the catcher and the elbow ends up pointing at the catcher. The flip release was taught before high speed video cameras. There are many coaches still teaching this release. The preferred method is IR.

Last edited:

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
Here it is youtube: