Watching 3rd strike

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 6, 2009
If the batter swings at strikes, they will be successful.

The batter has 3 shots at the ball; they need to use them all.

Looking at the 1st and 2nd strike is as bad as looking at the 3rd strike.

I'm a HUGE proponent of swinging at first strikes. But that's only if it's in a zone the hitter likes to hit from on strike one. You won't be successful swigning at first pitch strikes that are on the black. When that happen's you need to lay off not swing.

Feb 6, 2009
Really? I'm confused here. First pitch comes in as a change & you want your players swinging at that? I think they need to be selective when they're ahead in the count. Two strikes is when you open the zone a little and protect your at bat...

Perfect answer. I've been telling my girls at U14 for 6 months that they should NEVER swing at a change until two strikes and then try foul it off.

Oct 25, 2009
You should practice so that you can hit many areas of the zone well. Know the situation, what is needed to help the team--before you step in the box. If you get two strikes on you before you hit one well, then you have to deal with what you're thrown.

After two strikes, be the batter--not the umpire. Total focus on hitting the ball.

Oct 13, 2010
Georgia