POLL & Discussion about DEDICATION

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

% of players who put in their own work

• 100%

Votes: 1 3.0%
  • 90%

Votes: 2 6.1%
  • 80%

Votes: 1 3.0%
  • 75%

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 50%

Votes: 9 27.3%
  • 25%

Votes: 14 42.4%
  • 10%

Votes: 6 18.2%

• Total voters

radness

Possibilities & Opportunities!
Dec 13, 2019
What do you guesstimate the percentage of dedication you're seeing with softball players.

Dedication~ Specifically meaning the amount of training an individual is putting into ANY softball related skills on their own time.
Going Beyond just showing up for practice and games.
Training / Practicing on their own,
weekly ongoing routine.

Does age affect this?

GO DFP ??

Last edited:
Oct 5, 2017
Western Indiana
As a high school coach I get about 25% at optional off season workouts and I am guessing that less workout on their own at home.

I have a group at the jr high level 6th and 7th graders that are showing up at about 75% right now. VERY surprising, of that 75% I would say 50% workout at home. Their parents are at workouts talking to coaches on things to work on. I look forward to that group in the coming years.

May 20, 2015
interesting related point:

in talking to DD1 and a few other ex-players that are now at D3s.....it amazes me how many incoming first years don't know how to do work on their own......sure, they put time in with their trainer, but ask them to go work out on their own, or without one on one training, and they have no clue.......without the adult directing them what to do, how to do it, etc, they struggle to put in real work on their own

so wondering how you define "work on their own" - does work with their hitting coach or their positional coach or their trainer count, as it is work away from practice, or are we JUST talking about tee work in the yard, running on their own, etc