Coaching Titles

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 4, 2024
Earth
Coaches may have designated roles. Examples:
Hitting coach
Defensive coach
Outfield coach
Infield coach

Some teams do not have designated roles.

Do your coaches have designated coaching roles?

What are your feedback comments about the way you're coaching staff facilitates itself?

Do you see the players on the team following the instruction by all the coaches equally? Or is there some confusion who the players should listen to?

Could having some coaches designated roles possibly help? Or do you think that is unnecessary?

Last edited:

Cannonball

Ex "Expert"
Feb 25, 2009
Yes, everywhere I have coached as an assistant and head coach, all of the coaches had titles. Still, none were ever limited to just that responsibility. For example, as an assistant coach, I was the "hitting coach." However, I was also the 1st base coach and outfield coach. I threw almost all of the BP. The "Pitching Coach" also helped throw BP when we could throw side by side. IMO, what some miss out on is that you can use hitting mats and screens and create a situation where two coaches can throw live BP side by side.

As a HC, my assistant coaches for the lower levels teams were all "varsity assistants." In that way, they had the responsibility of joining me for preparing the varsity for the state-run after their seasons ended.

Note, that there is a difference between coaching teams and building a program. In the situations I coached in, I expected all of my assistants to be able to step into any position and know the basics of every coach's responses. One year, my varsity assistant coach who coached with me during the season had a medical emergency. In building a program, I had the ability to slide another coach into that position.