Attempts to clone myself have failed!

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Dec 4, 2009
Buffalo, NY
This is my first year coaching my DGD in 9u rec ball. She is progressing quite well, but she has grandpa to correct her when she makes bad mistakes in form. The team I am coaching on has a husband and wife that are running the team, they had it the year before and I couldn't have my own team because we didn't have the numbers at registration we needed. They are a very nice couple and had a few parents ask to have the daughters return to the team this year.
However, they know very little about coaching and even less about softball. I have given them info on drills, videos and web sites, but either they aren't looking at them or are ignoring them. We decided that I would work with drills with 1/3 of the girls at a time at practice. I have been working on batting. Just with this alone I don't have enough time at practice. I have a group of beginners mostly and it is time consuming enough to teach properly, let alone correct all the bad habits taught to all the returning players and we have all the other skills to teach. I am also working on pitching after practice.
Here's the plan. As soon as I have the majority of the girls to a point were I feel they can handle soft toss I am going to switch with one of the other coaches and try working a a fielding station and work out from there. These girls really need work and I can say that from all the years I have coached, and I have coached some very bad teams over the years, this team is the biggest challenge. They were 0-14 last year and the majority of innings the other teams went through the order. I can't clone myself or be in 2 places at once. I'll take any suggestions.

Feb 9, 2009
How many times a week do they practice? My bet would be once.