Pitchers With Less Than Perfect Mechanics

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 15, 2008
Cape Cod Mass.
As an instructor I am probably too concerned with perfect form. There are a lot of ways to get it done. Of course there are a few absolutes, like IR, but outside of that things get fuzzy. I'm watching a Boston College game on tape and their pitcher, Abby Dunning, is only 5'4" and supposedly throws upper 60's touching 70. She lands well to the left of the power line and lurches to the right like many of the men do. They said she had made some changes since 2023 but they are subtle. Here is the best I can do for video.

Jan 6, 2009
Chehalis, Wa
There are many ways to pitch. Try teaching that to someone new to pitching. I have two right now a 8yr old and a 13 yr old who is progressing fast, she took some lessons before me, not many. Hand on top of the ball in warmup at 9 and snapping the wrist straight up bending the elbow as the upper arm remained locked. She was also taught to push and drive hard, which I think is horrible advice for a starting pitcher. On top of that she was taught to open, but not how. She was opening like a block, turning/pivoting the back leg/foot backwards, back foot dragging sideways the entire time. She couldn’t throw strikes.

So yes there are many ways to use your body.

IMB_dnXkyQ.gif

This is learning to throw underhand and pitch at the same time. You have to learn to walk before you can sprint. I think this is lesson 4 second time doing this drill. If you’re wondering about the arm lift at the start it‘s her trying to keep the arm action directly through the plate and mitt. She threw a couple to the left and right and this is her reminding herself. Although most control problems are from guiding and getting stiff. You have to trust the whip and let it fly.