Team Pays Tournament Gate Fees Upfront?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 17, 2012
I was getting ready to sign up for a tournament, the details were standard. It's a 4 game guarantee (2 pool and then double elimination bracket play) for $375.

Then I saw this, "Inclusive gate fee due of 150.00 at check in. This will cover anyone wishing to be a spectator at this event grandparents, siblings, aunts and uncles along with cousins."

So now we are talking $525 for a standard NSA 4 game guarantee tournament? I have been doing this for over 20 years but that his outrageous (and lazy on their part).

Am I missing something?

May 7, 2008
Tucson
I haven't seen this either. Are you then, issued wrist bands or something? Because they would still need to accept walk ups, I would think. Perhaps it is too keep someone else from handling so much money?

How much is the gate charge, normally? I would guess you are paying for about 30 people to go in. That would be ok, if you are local, if not, yes, they are making money.

Then, you would have to collect money from each family, wouldn't you?

redhotcoach

Out on good behavior
May 8, 2009
Baseball tourneys we play now all include gate fee in with tourney fee. This year about a third of the softball did too. $150-$200 is pretty standard. It has always been just sent in with registration. Never have had to bring a check.

Fans do like it better, and it supposedly is better for concessions since people should have more cash in their pocket.

May 17, 2012
It just seems to me they are making the teams pay the gate fee so they don't have to deal with collecting money on game day from fans that come out to the games.

I can't see asking parents for additional money to pay for gate fees so it's coming out of my budget.

This is my first time seeing this in Indiana.

I think $525 is too much to pay for a standard 4 game tournament.

Jul 26, 2010