Pitcher Leg Ball

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 5, 2012
One of the teams in our organization played a game the other night and had bases loaded. The pitcher hit her leg with the pitch and the ball dropped to her right and rolled toward the foul line. The runner on third took off and crossed the plate while the other team watched the ball roll just short of the foul line.

The ump called it a dead ball and returned the runner to third and didn't call it a ball. When the coach asked about it, he said it would have been a different story had the ball rolled foul. Then it would have been a ball but the runner still couldn't have scored. Our coach walked away in a big what. Of course when he told me the story, he prefaced it with "just when you think you've seen everything..."

The ump got it wrong, didn't he?

JAD

Feb 20, 2012
Georgia
I am not an expert on the subject, but IMHO the ball should have been treated as 'live', and the runners can advance, just like they can on a wild pitch or a passed ball, and the pitch should be considered a 'ball' on the batter.

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
One of the teams in our organization played a game the other night and had bases loaded. The pitcher hit her leg with the pitch and the ball dropped to her right and rolled toward the foul line. The runner on third took off and crossed the plate while the other team watched the ball roll just short of the foul line.

The ump called it a dead ball and returned the runner to third and didn't call it a ball. When the coach asked about it, he said it would have been a different story had the ball rolled foul. Then it would have been a ball but the runner still couldn't have scored. Our coach walked away in a big what. Of course when he told me the story, he prefaced it with "just when you think you've seen everything..."

The ump got it wrong, didn't he?

Rule set, please.

MTR

Jun 22, 2008