Mom finds sex offender at practice.

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Sex offender stops volunteering with team after parent's research | KVOA.com | Tucson, Arizona

Well, actually she was checking her 12YOs phone. Read what he said to her. He got away with no background check, because he was "just helping" the coach.

The article says that he didn't break any law or his probation. Something about being a level 1 offender and he doesn't have to register. But, the mom found his mug shot.

We are asked often, on this board, at what age we leave the girls alone at practice. I am thinking maybe by 25.

Aug 29, 2011
NorCal
Yeah it is scary. Our commissioner this year was telling us a story about one of the dads who "helped out" with in 5-6 yo team one year. A guy comes up to him during one game points to the "helper" and says, "I just thought you should know I'm a police officer and I arrested that guy for statutory rape."

Be very careful about who you let "help out" at practices.

Feb 17, 2014
Orlando, FL
I actually check all parents and anyone else that is a regular. Fortunately we practice at a private facility so if someone is hanging out there is no "I am on public property" discussion. Florida is really bad for this kind of stuff so most parents have no reservation chasing off undesirables. I went to the TD of a major HS tournament and got a guy chased who was banned by the ASA for a sexting scandal. Kudos to the diligent mom.