Let a foul ball drop?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 27, 2011
North Carolina
So, on the UGA-Bama play last night ...

Runners on 2nd/3rd, one out. UGA leads 3-2. Bottom of the 6th. Third baseman catches a ball in foul territory over her shoulder, runner tags, scores tying run. Announcers call it a big mistake.

IMHO, you cannot decline to take an out there. If the runner scores (it's only the tying run), so be it. Mistake was letting the runner on second move up.

Granted, I think that was 2 strikes on the batter, so it increases the chances of a K, which would be the ideal result. But as a coach, I want my players taking the out in that situation.

What do you think?

Jun 27, 2011
North Carolina
I would drop the ball. We do that regularly since I can remember, it has been part of the game.

That was a terrible decision by the 3B to catch that ball. Gotta let that one drop every time.

I know it's part of the game, but I question whether that was the correct time to employ that strategy.

As a UGA fan, I wasn't bothered by it at all. I didn't consider a run for an out to be a bad trade at that moment. More of a wash. Runners on 2nd/3rd with 1 out is very dangerous w/ a 1-run lead late in the game. I'm already resigned to the idea that at least 1 run is going to score. Taking the out there reduces the chances of both runners scoring and surrendering the lead entering the 7th inning, which is usually fatal vs. a team like Alabama.

But I seem to be in the minority. So far. Would like someone to crunch the numbers. :)

Jan 24, 2011
I know it's part of the game, but I question whether that was the correct time to employ that strategy.