Coaching in a Chinese fire drill!

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Dec 4, 2009
Buffalo, NY
This is my first year back in this organization in 16 years and I am in 9u. Last year I coached in another organization an didn't care for the way things were run by the board and decided to go back home. Unfortunately, not enough girls signed up and I couldn't get my own team. so I am helping on a team run by a wife and husband. They have no sense of organization, they are nice people, but the team is a mess. We had no parents meeting, even though I suggested it. Because of this the parents have nothing to go by. We started with 11 girls and were looking for 1 additional girl. We have had no more than 7 girls at any practice and never know who will show up, they never call. Kids drift in for practice up to 15 minutes late and nothing is said. All I can do is advise them, but they are not receptive. We lost another girl last week who decided she doesn't want to play, I think the parent just signed her up without asking her. With 10 girls we are in real danger of forfeiting games with vacations and the fact that 1 girls comes in late on Wednesdays for religious reasons. This isn't easy, but I am keeping my mouth shut and going through the motions. I hope I don't sound arrogant but I have been around and I know this is going to be a disaster!

redhotcoach

Out on good behavior
May 8, 2009