Christmas is coming soon - I want a GoPro - questions

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 26, 2011
Houston, Texas
Can the GoPro be used to capture quality videos for skills presentation?

Is the software easy to use to clip and piece together a quality video?

Can still pictures be captured from frame by frame of video?

How long does video run? At what settings? Have read that certain settings make battery run low fast. Do you need purchase additional memory?

I am not an expert AT ALL, so I wonder if it's worth it from a newbie perspective. :) And I don't know if I am asking right questions either.

Jan 15, 2009
Midwest
We currently use a Hero 3 to capture games. Great Quality!!! You may need to use a different setting. We use a panoramic to get all the field.

You can by different size cards to store the images/video, (Currently use a 64gb, gets about 6 hours of video-- I have two)

I use imovie to edit if needed

The battery sucks we use an independent charger and connect it to the gopro for games.

We use the Linkspyder bracket to attach it to the back of the backstop.

I then compress the video using Handbrake and upload to Youtube. Not much editing. Sometimes just a little at the end or beginning I will just use the Youtube editor.

Not hard to setup and use, we use our phone to turn it on, preview the setup and to hit the record button.

We are having a bit of a problem with the Wi-fi on the camera to control it from the phone. I have to figure that one out ASAP

We are also wanting to get to the point of using it to do live feeds, but haven't quite figured that out so it doesn't cost and arm and a leg.

Merrill Danner

Relax and breathe!
Sep 26, 2012
74441 - Oklahoma
W got the Hero +3 black.