- May 29, 2015
Apparently from what you posted
with no Runners on base
sometimes there can be a balk and other times it would be a nothing (like what I watched in the game.)
Appears to be some flexibility in those rules.
With no runners on base there can never be a balk. The same actions are illegal, but it is an illegal pitch (not a balk).
I wish I could find the example that I was reading about the "do nothing balk." It was quite a lively discussion because only a few umpires were taking the position that this existed.