Squishing the Bug......

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 13, 2018
I'm not an expert here.....As I am watching my high school girls they all rotate but their back foot never leaves the ground....just spins. I feel like they aren't engaging their lower half as much as they should be but they aren't hitting bad so I don't want to make them overthink things and make things go south for them. Are there any simple verbal cues or a drill I can give them to help them feel their weight transfer? Any tips are greatly appreciated!

fanboi22

on the journey
Nov 9, 2015
SE Wisconsin
I'm not an expert here.....As I am watching my high school girls they all rotate but their back foot never leaves the ground....just spins. I feel like they aren't engaging their lower half as much as they should be but they aren't hitting bad so I don't want to make them overthink things and make things go south for them. Are there any simple verbal cues or a drill I can give them to help them feel their weight transfer? Any tips are greatly appreciated!
Thru what i have learned on this site i would suggest using the rear foot as an 'anchor'. Meaning, do the opposite of squish the bug and just try to keep the rear heel down. Look at some old footage of Sierra Romero as an example. So i guess the cue is to keep rear foot planted and try not to lift, twist, or squish. The core will torque enough to pull it off the ground eventually, but this cue has helped my DD.

Aug 20, 2017
The forward move is either not occurring on time (late) or the weight is staying back during the forward move (most likely related to the load/gather). Check the position of the back knee at foot down. It’s most likely over the back foot.