Sports, Kids and Parents

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

halskinner

Banned
May 7, 2008
In an earlier thread I was asked what I would recommend for a pitcher to help them with the 'Mental game', here is what I suggest for starters.

I wrote this in 1999 and it was in my first two books. It is not just for pitchers but for any kid in any sport.

This was also ran as an editorial in SOFTBALL MAGAZINE and turned into the most popular and most reprinted article in the history of that magazine.

It is copied and given to players in their 'Parent packages' they send home. It was reprinted in countless magazines and newspapers.

Give a copy to each player and their parents and your player might not have anymore unpleasant distraction. This story is given out by coaches in every high school and organized sport there is.

Coach Hal

SPORTS, KIDS AND PARENTS

I started playing competitive sports when I was very young. One or both of my parents came to most of my games.

I learned the awful truth at the very start. My parents' voices, coming from the stands, had a major impact on my concentration on the game.

I had been raised, as I hope all kids are, to listen to everything my parents said. The same went for my coach. Anything that one of those three distinct voices of authority said, I listened. Even when their words were not directed at me, I listened. Even when I did not want to hear them, I heard them loud and clear. When a kid hears one of those three voices, he CANNOT ignore it.

When I was 9 years old and there were 10 people in the stands, I heard them. It broke my concentration. It took some of the fun out of the game for me. It would sometimes distract me so much that it ruined the whole game for me.

When I was 24 with 1,000 people lining each side of the field yelling, I still picked those 3 voices out from all of the other voices. It is impossible to tune those voices out.