Rule 254 states there are no outs but suddenly we have the 3rd out!USSSA RULES:
254. R1 is on third base and R2 is on second base with no outs. B3 singles to score R1, who is closely followed by R2. R2 a) touches home plate, or b) fails to touch home plate. In both cases R1 failed to touch home plate on her initial pass.
Ruling - in a) and b), once R2 scores (or apparently scores), R1's right to cure her base running error is terminated and she is liable for appeal. Any runner who misses a base while advancing may not return to touch the missed base IF A FOLLOWING RUNNER HAS SCORED
In a), if the defense properly appeals R1 missing home, R1 is declared OUT (the third out) and R2's run is negated. If the third out is a base running infraction, runs scored by a FOLLOWING RUNNER do not count.
In b), if the defense properly appeals R2 missing home, R2 is declared OUT (the third out) but R1's run would count because she scored BEFORE the third out. However, the defense could still properly make a FOURTH-OUT APPEAL on R1 to negate her run
(4.2.C.3, p 26; 8.6.C, p 44; 8.6.H, p 45; 9.6.C, p 55)