Metrics of a Stolen Base...

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 14, 2022
View attachment 27074

For D3 softball, RE is about 1/2 run better with girl on 3rd with no outs vs girl on 2b with no outs. Of course the RE of nobody on with 1 out is 1.3 runs less than girl on second with no outs….
Looking at the charts I do not know why making outs at home with less than 2 outs is not a rule as well.
Another thing, no-one thinks of when a runner is thrown out you are also giving up an at bat at the end of the game. That is an additional .117-.998 run loss. My guess with a .370 on base% .3-.4.
So a runner making the first out at home is probable costing close to 2 runs.

May 27, 2022
The recent catcher pop times thread got me thinking. As an engineer, I'm always prone to deep diving into the metrics, so I've put together a video of a successful stolen base on my DD. There's been more than a few stolen bases on DD, but this is an example of a VERY fast and on time baserunner, basically she smoked DD! But all's well that ends well as DD threw her out on the next play trying to steal 3B.. HA!

This was taken in FL this fall, 18u TBolts Rocky, their premiere team. This was the leadoff baserunner who I believe is committed to Duke as a slapper, very fast and a tremendous baserunner.

Here's the timeline:
1- Runner gets an amazing jump, imperceptibly early, but definitely early!
2- The pitch.. Absolutely the worst case scenario for the catcher. Off speed change up and low and in pitch location on a righty which naturally gives the longest distance for the transfer and release time.
3- 0.747sec has elapsed between when runner has left and start of the POP time for the catcher, that is HUGE.
4- Baserunner time from leaving 1B and sliding safely into 2B is 2.565sec which is super super fast.
5- In this instance, a pop time of less than 1.840secs and perfect location gets this runner thrown out.