Is she out?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 15, 2013
738
63
Seattle, WA
Runners on 1st and 2nd and a pop up is hit 10 ft behind 3rd base. Plate umpire calls infield fly. Short stop tries to make the play, but drops the ball. Both runners advance without being tagged. The field umpire, who was set up near 3rd, mistakenly tells the runner coming from 2nd she is out and she heads to the dugout. The umpires convene and the batter/runner is told she is out, which is correct.

What should happen to the girl who was on 2nd and who advanced to 3rd? Is she out because she went to the dugout or should she be placed back on 3rd?
 

Strike2

Allergic to BS
Nov 14, 2014
2,096
113
Runner put back on 3B, and some umpires may need some more training.

An infield fly is "a fair fly (not including a line drive or an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort". Anything beyond the bases that infielders have to run after becomes suspect.
 
Jul 22, 2015
865
93
Runners on 1st and 2nd and a pop up is hit 10 ft behind 3rd base. Plate umpire calls infield fly. Short stop tries to make the play, but drops the ball. Both runners advance without being tagged. The field umpire, who was set up near 3rd, mistakenly tells the runner coming from 2nd she is out and she heads to the dugout. The umpires convene and the batter/runner is told she is out, which is correct.

What should happen to the girl who was on 2nd and who advanced to 3rd? Is she out because she went to the dugout or should she be placed back on 3rd?
She advanced safely and only left the base due to a mistake by the umpire if I understand correctly. This can and should be corrected by the umpires.
 
May 29, 2015
3,968
113
Runners on 1st and 2nd and a pop up is hit 10 ft behind 3rd base. Plate umpire calls infield fly.
Batter is out, yes.

Short stop tries to make the play, but drops the ball.
Batter is still out, yes.

Both runners advance without being tagged.
No, they are not out.

The field umpire, who was set up near 3rd, mistakenly tells the runner coming from 2nd she is out and she heads to the dugout. The umpires convene and the batter/runner is told she is out, which is correct.

What should happen to the girl who was on 2nd and who advanced to 3rd? Is she out because she went to the dugout or should she be placed back on 3rd?
No, she is not out. She only went to the dugout because the umpire told her to. Fix it.

Yes, the batter is still out. ;)
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
43,030
Messages
683,158
Members
22,009
Latest member
ashtraythief
Top