Is it time to cut the drama Queen?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 13, 2013
I agree with you to some extent but you are missing the big picture the OP is trying to describe which I am staying out of because I am just a SB coach.

Mar 23, 2010
Cafilornia
If you're only going to play B, there is no need whatsoever to take anyone just because of talent, but you must already know that. Your decision is whether you think you can get the message through without the nuclear option of dropping her.

I have no tolerance for lying, but I've never seen a kid left alone to wait for a ride, nor have I ever known a coach or group of parents that would let it happen. Not at 6, not at 15.

Feb 3, 2011
You're far more than an X's and O's softball coach to this young woman. I do not envy your dilemma and yet, I do envy the tremendous opportunity you've been given to provide her with the positive influence and structure that she needs in her life.

No one player is bigger than the team, but for the sake of this young woman and your community, I believe the role you must play is far bigger than the one you signed up for.

Feb 22, 2013
From reading the original post, it sounds like the travel ball team hasn't been formed yet. If there are girls that you are currently coaching on a Rec. team and they are not coachable, have attitude problems, parents are unruly, can't show up to practice or games, etc., then why would you invite them to play travel ball?

When coaching travel ball, those problems will be magnified several times over. You will be giving your time and money to provide opportunities to girls who want to play the game against better competition. If you can't fix the problem prior to forming the team, don't be fooled in thinking that they will magically go away.