Interference

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 6, 2016
2,192
113
Chicago
What makes this a bad call, or a good call and a bad rule, is that the catcher clearly cuts off the runner and creates an unavoidable collision. There doesn't seem to be any intent on the runner's side to collide. The runner was just being a runner. The umpire appears to have gotten the call right by the book, but you can't feel good about the outcome.

Right. If you're arguing this is a good call, you should instruct every single fielder who may be about to receive the ball to jump into the path of runners because there is no such thing as obstruction in those cases anymore. The rules, as being interpreted by some here, literally make obstruction an impossible call if there's contact above the waist (and there is almost always contact above the waist on obstruction).
 
Jan 30, 2019
9
3
Last year there was a play to finish an LSU and Auburn game, during the SEC's opening series. The play was almost the exact same as the OP, with the exception of the ball was not dislodged (I can not find a good video of the play). The timing of the catch to the collision and everything was virtually identical. On the field the umpires called obstruction and awarded the run ending the game 3-2 in LSU's favor. NCAA umpire leadership release case ruling on that play stating the runner should have been ruled out by rule 12.13.1.3, which is what I quoted. So my interpretation is following that of the Coordinator and Rules Secretary for NCAA.


As many people have stated before NCAA, as come so far away from any most other alphabets. Under NCAA rules, I have dead ball-out. Under other alphabets (Fed, USA, etc.) I have obstruction all they way. This appeared to be a NCAA game and post #3 reference the NCAA rule. My quotes to that were in response to the question about a collision overruling obstruction, which it does, as collisions can be an act of interference. NCAA rules committee interrupted the above waist collision to be an act to dislodge the ball, which is interference.

So yes under the rule set the game was played under, interference by collision above the waist, a violation of rule 12.13.1.3, which the penalty is dead ball - out.
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,598
83
Don't forget that NCAA changed the rule that the catcher cannot be in front of the plate without the ball or it is automatically obstruction. It doesn't even have to affect the runners path.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
41,039
Messages
641,744
Members
20,046
Latest member
VJM1163
Top