Batter Runner Interference

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Sep 19, 2018
I got to watch this a 2nd time on GC (awesome feature being able to find and see at bats so easily)
On ball 4, she turned and dropped her bat towards the dugout (we were 3rd base side).
When she turned back and started towards first base, that is when there was contact with the Catcher.
She backed away into the box, then when the screaming started she backed away further (like a batter would on a passed ball with a runner on third).
She did not interfere with the catcher making a play on the 3rdBase runner scoring. 3rd base runner slid into home by the time the Catcher received the throw home and the now batter runner in no way hindered the catcher from catching and or tagging the runner.

Jun 6, 2016
Chicago
Anyone who has read my posts, knows that I am not a proponent of MSU, and try to apply the rules as written. When I said "fairest" it is acknowledging that both teams did something wrong: The defense threw to second when there was no possibility of an out there, and the offense created contact with the catcher during that ill-advised throw (Note that I am not calling it interference).

Where I disagree with you is that the offense did nothing wrong here. The BR was legally going toward first base. That's what she's supposed to do. The catcher created this entire situation. The offense did not create the contact. The defense did.

This is 100% on the defense.

Jun 6, 2016
Chicago
IMO
1. The batter-runner has no 'right' to first while interfering with the defense. After ball 4, she is no different that a runner from 1st to 2nd and cannot get in the way of the defense making their play.