Sounds like the correct ruling to me.NFHS rules
1 out with runners on 1st & 2nd. Count is 2-2 but has been a long at bat with several fouls. At some point the scoreboard operator accidentally puts up a 3rd ball. Next pitch is a ball, the batter and both runners start to advance as if it‘s a walk. The plate ump stops the batter after a couple steps toward 1st. The base coaches go to hold up the jogging baserunners but they are already in no man’s land so we yell for them to run/advance. The catcher attempts to throw out our slower runner going to 2nd, but she is safe. The coach of the team in the field claims that the batter tried to deceive his fielders by taking a step toward 1st and should be awarded an automatic strike, which would have led to a K. All 3 umps agree that it is just ball 3 and all runners stay advanced.
What is the correct ruling?