Angle of the hips at ball release.

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 9, 2018
Texas
Does the angle of the hips at ball release change from pitch type to pitch type? I am referring angle relative to home base and in relation to the ground?

Sep 3, 2015
I’m not an expert, but from what i understand, in order to change pitch trajectory without changing release, hips angling down for drop and up for rise.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Aug 21, 2008
If I'm understanding the question correctly, I'd have to say no.

Personally I believe the mechanics have to be the same on every pitch for the sake of consistency and rhythm. What changes pitch to pitch is the release point (letting go early or late) and how the ball is spins. I get baffled when I hear of coaches teaching pitchers to step one way on this pitch, that way on another pitch, lean on one pitch, tilt back on another, etc. Basically learning 5 different ways to pitch for 5 different pitches. How can someone stay in a rhythm doing this?

Would this ever happen in baseball? I mean, if we were talking about a boy learning how to pitch baseball (or maybe someone on here grew up as a baseball pitcher can answer) what would you think of a baseball pitching coach who said to your son: You step straight on your fastball, but on your curve, you're going to step way off to the left, alter your stride and mechanics, and just throw the ball outside and we'll call it a curve. I doubt you'd go see that coach for a second lesson. But somehow this has become normalized in girls softball. It's mindboggling.

Apr 20, 2018
SoCal
If I'm understanding the question correctly, I'd have to say no.