16u beginner to softball training ideas/advice?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 3, 2020
HI . I just failed a tryout for a 16u team . I'm having another tryout soon . I'm a beginner. Never played on a team in my life. I'm a little out of shape. I'm wanting to see if anyone on here knows anything I can do at home by myself to get better ? I have a rebounder and a target net set up . Does anyone have any drill to help with running or throwing ? On my other thread you can see my batting . I think its okay but I need to work on fielding and running . Please let me know any drills or workouts . (Push ups , sit ups , etc)

Jun 16, 2010
Theres a few very specific things that are done in softball.
You need to see it, to copy it. you should be able to find videos on YouTube.

The very first is.....to field, and throw in infield, without standing up. You do not have time to stand up in infield. Keep the glove out in front, field the ball, and quickly throw it back without standing up. You may have to drop your knee on your throwing side to do that somewhat sometimes.

Every practice...every age.....begins with girls taking infield this way lined up and rotating for several times each. Fielding balls hit to them and throwing it back. This is the most basic softball move and drill. while you may be able to do that with the rebounder it's better if somebody hits the ball to you. Not hard. Starting off warm-ups usually start off about 15 feet 20 feet away hitting it lightly then they move back a little farther and hit the ball harder. But the keys are keep the glove out in front, stay down keep your butt down, throw the ball back quickly without standing up. The quicker the better, and that takes practice and time to develop that movement.